American chewy peanut butter cookies

22 May

I haven’t baked cookies in forever so I thought it was about time I got my wooden spoon out! I was supposed to be baking the

Sorry for rubbish iPhone photo!

gorgeous peanut butter and jam cookies as featured in issue 6 of Baked and Delicious magazine but, stupidly, I have gone and misplaced issue 6. I made these cookies as a surprise for my boyfriend coming home for a 4 day business trip and my word did they go down well!

I used a basic cookie recipe and then added around 4 sticky heaped tablespoons of peanut butter goodness. The recipe is in cups but, if you don’t have any, you could easily use a standard mug. It should make around 10 fat cookies.

You will need:

  • 2 cups of plain flour
  • 3/4 of a cup of melted butter
  • 2 cups of caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract
  • 1 egg and 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups of crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 cup of chopped nuts
How to:
  • Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees. For a fan oven, pre-heat to 170 degrees.
  • Mix the melted butter and sugar together until smooth.
  • Add the egg yolk, egg and vanilla extract and mix well.
  • Sift in the flour until a slight doughy consistancy has formed.
  • Add the peanut butter one cup by one. At this point you may have to get your hands in there and mix. I used a pair of St Tropex self tanning gloves to avoid the mess!
  • Sprinkle over the chopped nuts.
  • Roll the mixture into a small ball and place on a pre-lined baking tray. I managed to fit 6 on one and the remaining 4 on the other.
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden.
  • Turn off the oven and leave the cookies to rest for 5 minutes with the oven door open.
  • Transfer to a baking tray and allow to cool.
Let me know if you make these and how they taste!
PS/ As a thank-you, R bought me these gorgeous pink lilies so the cookies must have been super delicious!
Leave a Reply

