Goodbye 2010!

31 Dec

As the last few hours of 2010 draw upon us, I want to thank you all so much for the brilliant year Florals and Cupcakes has had! I’m so thankful for all the comments, e-mails and tweets and it’s been brilliant to know you guys like the little finds I post up.

2010 has been the best year ever for me. Having battled with Borderline Personality Disorder since I was 13, 2010 really was the year everything finally pulled together and the right medication and right people around me have given me the strength to get to a point where I don’t feel like “the ill girl”. Rather, more than ever, I feel like Hollie and I bloody love it. With my disorder (which I rarely talk about), there’s always a lack of sense of identity and I’ve always gone between extremes of wanting to be the London-living extreme party girl to the quiet girl who never left her mother’s home. However, that changed this year and I’m more level than I have been in my life. It’s taken me years to come to terms with the illness because, in all honesty, I was just a child when the illness struck. So, once more, a huge thanks to everyone for all the positive comments throughout the past year- whatever mood I was in, your lovely feedback always lifted me. You can find out more about Borderline Personality Disorder on BPDWORLD.

Image from weheartit.com

The highlights of 2010 have been amazing but I thought I’d list some of my favourites (in no major order):

  • The Eternity: My boyfriend presenting me with a huge diamond ring in September was the best thing to happen to me this year, if not in my whole life. We sat with tea and cake in bed on a normal Saturday morning and then he handed me a little navy box and gave me a promise of forever.
  • Passing first year of University: I was quite ill in 2009 so to have passed my first year of my course was amazing. I remember nearly being sick as I opened the sticky brown envelope.
  • My 21st birthday: I went to Seaworld, ran along Tynemouth beach, giggled, ate fish and chips, drank too much champagne and got covered in glitter. Perfection!

Image from weheartit.com

I also thought I’d share some things I’m looking forward to in 2011:

  • Moving in with my love: Don’t get my wrong, I’ve lived with males before (parents, brothers, friends) but I’ve never lived with the man I love for more than about a month. It’s scary. I’m messy, he’s tidy. I like twee prints, he’s found of minimalism. I’m moving into a house he’s already owned for a long while which is quite nice because it’s homely already. I can’t wait to decorate and start our lives together properly.
  • R’s 40th birthday: My other half turns 40 this year which certainly calls for some fabulous party and an amazing birthday cake for me to bake!
  • Aplying for my MA: I’m currently interning somewhere I adore and I’m hoping to continue working there post-graduation but I’m also going to be applying for a part-time MA. I’m looking to get into Birmingham City University- do any readers go there or have any tips on applying for a Masters Degree?

Tell me your plans/resolutions and best bits about 2010 and I really look forward to lots of blogging in 2011. Happy New Year, Everyone!

Image from weheartit.com

One Response to “Goodbye 2010!”

  1. Nicola Crossman January 5, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    I wish you all the best for 2011 xxxxx

Leave a Reply

